National Symbols of India 2024 Complet List English Hindi

national symbols of india

Indian symbols: Indian symbols hold a lot of meaning. It represents the identification and core marks of the country. The symbol infuses a sense of pride and patriotism in every Indian heart. The below article discusses brief information about the Indian national characters.

We have a total of 17 Indian symbols, the list is given below for the candidate’s exam reference purpose.

  • The Indian national flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya.
  • Indian rupee symbol designed by Udaya Kumar.
  • The number of Indian symbols is “17”.
  • पिंगली वेंकय्या द्वारा डिज़ाइन किया गया भारतीय राष्ट्रीय ध्वज।
  • उदय कुमार द्वारा डिजाइन भारतीय रुपये का प्रतीक।
  • भारतीय प्रतीकों की संख्या “17” है।

Importance of national symbols of India

There are 17 national symbols of India. Every sign holds its privileges and importance. Some of the importance of a national symbol is given below.

  1. Symbols help to preserve the chosen national character so that further generations can come to know the things.
  2. Symbols infuse a deep sense of pride in the hearts of Indian citizens.
  3. It also helps in popularizing the object chosen.
  4. Symbols represent the unique quality of India and its citizens.
  5. Symbols exemplify the rich cultural fiber that resides at the core of the country.

भारत के राष्ट्रीय प्रतीकों का महत्व

  • प्रतीक चुने हुए राष्ट्रीय चरित्र को संरक्षित करने में मदद करते हैं ताकि आने वाली पीढ़ियों को चीजों का पता चल सके।
  • प्रतीक भारतीय नागरिकों के दिल में गर्व की गहरी भावना का संचार करते हैं।
  • यह चुनी हुई वस्तु को लोकप्रिय बनाने में भी मदद करता है।
  • प्रतीक भारत और उसके नागरिकों की अद्वितीय गुणवत्ता का प्रतिनिधित्व करते हैं।
  • प्रतीक देश के मूल में रहने वाले समृद्ध सांस्कृतिक फाइबर का उदाहरण देते हैं।

National symbols of India

TitleNational Symbols
National FlagTiranga
National AnthemJana Gana Mana
National CalendarSaka calendar
National SongVande Mataram
National EmblemNational Emblem of India
National FruitMango
National RiverGanga
National AnimalRoyal Bengal Tiger
National TreeIndian Banyan
National Aquatic AnimalGanges River Dolphin
National BirdIndian Peacock
National CurrencyIndian Rupee
National ReptileKing Cobra
National Heritage AnimalIndian Elephant
National FlowerLotus
National VegetablePumpkin
Oath of AllegianceNational Pledge
National Symbols of India

Indian Symbols List

Brief detail about some of the symbols.

  • National Flag- Tiranga

The national flag – Tiranga is a horizontal tricolour – saffron at the top, white in the middle with Ashoka chakra imprinted in the middle of navy-blue colour and green at the bottom.

Width to length is two is to three.

  • Saffron indicates – the strength and courage of the country.
  • White indicates– a truth with dharma chakra.
  • Green indicates- fertility, growth, and auspiciousness of the land.

The Ashoka Chakra has 24 spokes. The constituent assembly of India adopted the design of the nation flag on 22nd July 1947.

  • National anthem: Jana Gana Mana

Initially composed by – Rabindranath Tagore in Bengali, afterwards adapted to Hindi version by the constituent assembly as India’s national anthem on 24th Jan 1950. 

The complete anthem consists of five stanzas.

  • National calendar: Saka calendar

The calendar committee introduced the national calendar in 1957. The usage was officially started at 1Chaitra 1879 Saka Era or 22nd of March 1957.

  • National song: Vande Matram

– Bankimchandra Chatterji composed the song in the Sanskrit language.  Dr Rajendra Prasad on 24th Jan 1950 came up with the constituent assembly statement that “ the song Vande Mataram, which played a historic part in the struggle for Indian freedom, shall be honoured equally with Jana Gana Mana and shall have equal status with it.

  • National Emblem: State Emblem of India

It is adapted from the lion capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. The motive of the symbol is Satyameva Jayate (it means Truth Alone Triumphs).

The symbol features the Asiatic lion standing back-to-back mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying carving in high relief of an elephant,

  • a galloping horse,
    • a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus.
  • National heritage animal: Indian Elephant

The Indian Elephant has been adopted as the national heritage animal of India. The symbol holds importance as the Indian elephants are enlisted as endangered and threatened by fragmentation, habitat loss and degradation. 

Above discussed some of the national symbols. Hope you get clarity over the knowledge and it will help you—all the best for your bright future.

How many national symbols do we have?

We have a total of 17 national symbols.

Indian national anthem sung for the first time?

27th December 1911 at Calcutta session (It was the first time).

What is the National Emblem of India Motto?

Satyameva Jayate and it was adopted on 26th January 1950.

How many colours are in the Indian National Flag?

Tiranga. Saffron (Top), White (Middle), and Green (bottom).

Who designed the Indian rupee symbol?

The person who designed the Indian rupee symbol is “Udaya Kumar Dharmalingam”.

Join Examdays Telegram

For more details about the Telegram Group, Click the Join Telegram below button.

Join Membership

In case of any doubt regarding Telegram, you can mail us at [email protected].


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.